4th of July

We had a great 4th of July once again this year.  It was seriously a great day.  The morning started off with the annual Marquette Park parade and brunch at our house. I love this event.  It’s been going on for at least 4 decades and it’s such a treat to see the little ones riding their bikes, but even more to see the older kids (some high school, some home from college) out there walking/riding and totally owning it.

DSC_0292

DSC_0298

DSC_0303

We celebrated a favorite friend’s birthday.

IMG_3246

We spent the afternoon/early evening swimming and cooking out at my dad’s.  If I can ever figure out how to embed the YouTube video, I’ll update.  🙂

Once we dried off, everyone headed over to Derek’s Dad’s house for fireworks and baseball.  As kids, we spent hours playing baseball in the backyard with our dad after dinner.  It’s one of my favorite childhood memories and I had so much fun playing with him and my sisters again.  Honestly, I really can’t think of a better spot for home-based fireworks.  The backyard is huge and backs right up to a cornfield with a stunning view as the sun sets.

IMG_3250

IMG_3257

IMG_3269

IMG_3270

 

I hope everyone else had a fantastic day!

One thought on “4th of July

  1. Hi! Embedding YouTube videos is simple, I can show you if you want. (I JUST figured out embedding Vimeo yesterday, which thrilled me.)

    And Katie looks so pretty! Those super tall candles are awesome.

Leave a Reply

