52/52: Water For Elephants

When the library couldn’t get Catching Fire in quite fast enough for me, my neighbor graciously brought over a stack of books from her book club assortment.  Fiction that I probably wouldn’t have picked up on my own.  The first one I picked was Water For Elephants.  Working with (mostly) elderly I appreciated the scenes in the nursing home, but I will admit to a bit of speed reading to get through them.  When I did a bit of reading about the book and the author, I discovered that she wrote the book as a part of NaNoWriMo.  It wasn’t exactly my cup of tea, but you’ve got to hand it to someone who can crank out a novel that good in such a short period of time.

 

Update:  I saw the movie last Saturday.  Not a fan.

2 thoughts on “52/52: Water For Elephants

  1. No way about the NaNoWriMo! I’ve wanted to do it for at least five years, so maybe this is the year?

    I have Water for Elephants on my Kindle but have yet to read it. I started it once but never finished it and now my Kindle is unreadable. (Sarah owns a copy, though, I think.) Given that you and Sarah thought it was just okay, I’m not racing to read it. The movie was good, have you seen that?

  2. I thought it was really cool! She did all her research before, but it’s still pretty incredible to create a work of that caliber in such a short period of time.

    I didn’t know there was a movie until I read this so we rented it last night. It hit the highlights, but definitely fell into the adaptation of a book category rather than the recreation of a book. Jon thought it was good overall (he hasn’t read the book).

    So sad your Kindle is broken. 😦 Will your books transfer to the Kindle iPhone app?

Leave a Reply

